logansrogue: (Default)
[personal profile] logansrogue
So I was half-watching "Who Do You Think You Are" the other day while eating dinner. Usually I'm really interested in that show, because they'll have people with families of varying backgrounds. It's especially good when they have people of colour on the show, because the stories of their ancestor's lives are usually incredible and deserving to be told. People need to know those stories, you know? They're important.

But the other day this guy was on:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_Armstrong_%28comedian%29

I've never seen his work. He might be brilliant for all I know. But my sole introduction to this person was listening to him lament his ridiculously rich and wealthy ancestor's discovery that his good friend or relative or something didn't leave that ancestor his money and estates, and instead gave that money to their illegitimate daughters.

"Oh, I really feel for him!" he'd said.

Oh YES. Let's feel so sorry for this man sitting on a fuckton of money, with titles and rubbing shoulders with royalty. He had the chance to level up to DUKE by acquiring the land and titles of his friend/relative, damn it! But he got utterly *screwed* by a dude dying and having the UTTER TEMERITY to give all he had to his OWN FUCKING DAUGHTERS and mistress! How dare he give money to people he loved! People that had no way of making their own money, being women and all, and because they weren't the right kind of women, no doubt having even less of an easy time getting a comfortable place in the world. What an asshole!

I swear to God, this guy's episode was a full hour discovering how fucking rich his predecessors were. And then in the end he finds out his direct ancestor is William the fucking Conqueror.

Seriously. What a shit episode. I wanted to vomit at the end of it. This guy was pissing and moaning about his ancestors and the terrible times they went through. Fuck this guy. There were episodes where people of colour were crying because their families had been torn apart by slavery. And you know what? THAT is the point where you feel sad for your fucking ancestors.

You know what? If I unearthed an ancestor like the one he'd described? I'd be as depressed as hell. "My ancestor was a fuck-knuckle," I'd say, right on air.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-06-21 05:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stephbg.livejournal.com
For a spot of context he is a comedian who often mocks the upper classes.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-06-21 09:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wiccarowan.livejournal.com
I saw on QI (so it must be true!) that pretty much EVERYONE can trace their ancestry back to William the Conqueror etc - if you think about how many generations have passed in that time, it's statistically more like that you ARE related to a major figure in history than that you aren't.

Profile

logansrogue: (Default)
logansrogue

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags