logansrogue: (grrrrr)
[personal profile] logansrogue
Okay. I am SO sick of the news going on and on about what a disappointment it is that Jana Pittman didn't win gold.

Sure, it's a bit of a shame she didn't win, but by Apollo, the bloody woman had a KNEE OPERATION TWO WEEKS AGO! It's a fucking miracle she's running AT ALL!

Fuckwads in the media totally SHIT me. Well.

If I had the money to do that sms to the heroes thing? I'd say to the girl:

"Jana, you did your country proud. You ran your best, you completed the race, and you fought back through bad health to make it to Athens. You're a hero in my books."

The emphasis on gold really shits me. I mean, one of our triathlete girls got silver, and the bloody media is going on about what a tragedy it is.

Uhm - hang on - she's HAPPY about it!! She's gotten a medal, at ATHENS, and there was only one other person there faster than her. I'm a shit runner. In school, I used to get really happy if I got second LAST, let alone second. I with the media would give these athletes a fuckin' break. I know I watch the Olympics to see the natural human form accomplish amazing feats, to see people, regardless of their countries, do their best and make an effort. I am very proud when my country wins medals, but you know what?

The moments so far where I've been the most proud have had little to do with medals. Women's Volleyball, (Our girl had a totally torn shoulder, and we STILL gave the Americans a run for their money till the end), Gymnastics (WA girl makes it into the finals, when Aussies NEVER make it into any sort of gymnastic finals cause generally, we can't compete with the Eastern Block), and of course, Jana Pittman's effort.

I view sport like that saying about life. You know the one? About the destination not being important, but the journey? The journey is important. The effort the people put in to an event is what makes me enjoy it. And the thing I love the most? The competing teams congratulating each other at the end - just for putting the time in to compete with each other. I like that sport brings people together. That's what it's really for, don't you think?

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-26 05:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] caitlen.livejournal.com
I completely agree.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-26 06:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gemfyre.livejournal.com
*nods in agreement*

I'm just like, "I couldn't do that in a hundred years, so I have no right bagging YOU!"

Did you see that Iranian weightlifter? Clean and jerked 260+ kilos and made it look EASY! DAMN!

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-26 11:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] commanderteddog.livejournal.com
The focus is because it's soft news (human interest stories). Soft news is easy for the average person to swallow, tends to hold an audience longer and pads a slow news day. The "tragedy" is just media spin, plain and simple. The news media is becoming insanely good at that. CNN spin masters so much that I'm starting to believe that the news reporters have part-time jobs as DJs.

Silver is damn good. I've always thought that silver was more pretty and shiney than gold anyway.

(deleted and reposted due to a massive typo. Sorries)

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-26 08:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/lothar_/
That's what it's really for, don't you think?

Not since Moscow 1980. It's been a giant commercial with some sports(wo)manship spliced in since L.A. 1984. At least that's the way it seems in the states, and it sure felt that way in Atlanta 1996. Other than that, I can't say I disagree with you on the rest.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-26 09:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shoemaster.livejournal.com
Heh. Your parents ever look at you while watching the Olympics with the 14 year old gymnasts and 19 year old swimmer (rowr ;) and ask "So what's wrong with you?" Maybe we're just weird but the thing is these people train nonstop (and barely make any money while they're at it) and they make it look damn easy, while the rest of us are sitting on our asses going O_O

I'd like to see the announcers go out and try the sports they're commenting on.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-27 05:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lissannej.livejournal.com
I completely agree. When fuckwit Tony Squires said we should all ice our knees in sympathy, I shut the TV off. one would think she's the only Australian athlete at the Olympics!

Profile

logansrogue: (Default)
logansrogue

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags